Tags

, , , , ,

AS you guys all probably know, I began a brand new chapter in my life this week as I started a new job! But unfortunately, the role and the job itself just wasn’t suitable for me; therefore, I have quit already! Now believe me, this wasn’t an easy choice I made, it was tough, which is why a whole heap of emotions have been running through my mind all week! Find out why I quit, right here, right now…

Now, I know some of you maybe thinking I’m weak for not giving this particular job much of a chance, and that is perfectly understandable because after all, I only lasted a total of three days, which realistically isn’t long at all!

Anyway the first two days of the job were basic training days – I was only there for half of the day. Here, I got taught about the inside ropes of the job and also got shown a very powerful video as well as a PowerPoint presentation which both focused significantly on the marketing industry.

Then on the third day, of the job, I was able to hit the streets and head out to the heart of Gateshead City Centre (Trinity Square) in order to pitch a credit card from a company called Vanquis – (this was the product which I was advised to sell).

The job in itself basically required me to sell as many credit cards, from a company called Vanquis bank, to as many people as possible, as a way of making a profit (yep, that’s right, it was a commission based only job)! Unfortunately, this wasn’tΒ what I was looking for; therefore, this put me off quite a lot! The reason is because, it made me worry uncontrollably – ‘what happens if I make no sales in one day’; therefore, I wouldn’t have earned a single penny. Not only did this put me off but I also didn’t feel comfortable and confident enough to sell a product alike this. At first, I will admit that I am a very shy and reserved individual until I get the hang of something! It is a shame that this job didn’t suit me as much as I expected but I guess that is a rope of life, within itself!

At the very end of my very first full day in the job, I only made a grand total of: ONE SALE, which obviously is pretty understandable considering it was only my first day out on the job.

But for me, waking up at 5am each morning to go and stand on the street for approximately 10 hours in the freezing cold weather, trying to sell a credit card, just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Unfortunately, I expected the job to be some what different; therefore, once I discovered I wasn’t enjoying it, I felt like I just had to leave!

Although the job in itself did not appear to take my fancy, I am extremely grateful to have been given the opportunity to work alongside a brilliant, succeeding and on-growing company, within the marketing industry.

Now from being so excited about moving up in the world and gaining a full time job in a successful ongoing business was a massive step forward for me and I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t the worst experience for me and I did meet some awesome people within my three days of working there but evidently this goes to show that some things just aren’t meant to be.

I guess now it is time to begin the job hunting process again and hopefully find something which I, personally, find extremely interesting and successful in the very near future.

After all, I am strongly aware that this job would be perfectly suitable for so many individuals out there, but unfortunately for me, it just wasn’t what I was looking for… But hey, never mind, ey!

An unexpected turn out of events

An unexpected turn out of events

