Tags

, , ,

TONIGHT the nation was hit with some very saddened and shocking news – actress Anne Kirkbride (also known as Deirdre Barlow) sadly passed away at the age of 60.

BBC News broke the heartbreaking news earlier this evening, when news evaporated that Anne had sadly passed after suffering from a short illness.

Anne is best known for her role in the TV soap, Coronation Street. Here she played well-known character Deirdre Barlow, for many years – in fact, since 1972.

Without a shadow of a doubt, hearts from across the nation will be left saddened, tonight, by this news.

It certainly came as a great shock to many people, including me.

When my father came upstairs to my room to share the news with me, I could not believe it. My heart sank for a moment and I was left completely shocked. As a result of this, I instantly checked my Twitter feed in order to discover whether it was true. Here I discovered it was – many warm thoughts and messages of sadness, filled my feed.

Now, all that’s left for me to say is… RIP Anne.

Twitter was filled with the saddened news of Anne's death

Twitter was filled with the saddened news of Anne’s death

