Tags

, , , ,

A STADIUM, situated in the heart of Sunderland, was filled with thousands of dedicated supporters, countless red & white stripes, a collection of famous faces and one very tall goal keeper… When I attended the Sunderland AFC vs Leeds United FC football game, with my Dad today.

I remember, when growing up, I was taken to several football matches, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I used to attend with my Dad, my older sister and also my Grandad, whether there be rain or sunshine, we used to go to ‘cheer on the lads’.

So today felt great, lots of childhood memories of attending the games came flooding back to me with happiness.

Today’s game was the 3rd round of the FA Cup and guess what!? Sunderland WON… Wooooooo! The final score stood at 1-0, which made the atmosphere in the entire stadium electric!

Thousands of home supporters turned out to support my home team today, which always creates an extremely exciting atmosphere.

When goal scorer, Patrick van Aanholt, bolted the ball straight in to the net, Sunderland supporters jumped from their seats with a loud roar of cheers, as excitement rose from each and every dedicated supporter. I absolutely love the sound of the cheer which comes from supporters, it echoes around the stadium triumphantly.

Not only this, but Leeds also brought a huge fan base along with them too, today. Chanting and cheering and drumming on the seats drilled through my ears from the away supporters. Their presence dominated the entire stadium which echoed real passion in their teams.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed attending today’s game and it is an even bigger bonus when the team you have supported all of your life, wins right in front of you.

Sunderland Stadium of Light: Today we took the victory - won the game and now we look forward to going in to round 4 of the FA Cup

Sunderland Stadium of Light: Today we took the victory – won the game and now we look forward to going in to round 4 of the FA Cup

